On behalf of the Florida Area Health Education Center (AHEC) Network, we are pleased to  announce the following students who have been selected to be a part of the Florida AHEC  Scholars Program for the 2020-2022 cohort.  

The AHEC Scholars Program is designed for health professions students interested in  supplementing their education by gaining additional knowledge and experience in rural and/or  underserved urban settings. This two-year program offers students 40 hours of didactic training  and 40 hours of clinical training each year along with a stipend. These students will receive core  content in the areas of interprofessional education, behavioral health integration, social  determinants of health, cultural competency, practice transformation and current and  emerging health issues. Over the course of this program, students will have the distinct  opportunity to gain knowledge, skills, and experiences that will help them meet the needs of  underserved populations. 

The AHEC mission is to enhance access to quality health care, particularly primary and preventive care, by improving the supply and distribution of healthcare professionals via strategic partnerships with academic programs, communities, and professional organizations.  These efforts support strategic priorities to increase diversity and distribution among healthcare professionals and enhance healthcare quality and delivery to rural and underserved areas. 

Welcome to the AHEC Scholars Community, Cohort 3! 

Alliyah Johnson, TCC

Amanda Collier, FAMU

Amy Zogran, FSU 

Anya Rambaram, FAMU

Arionne Keaton, FAMU

Benjamin Edouard, FAMU

Brandon Rowland, FSU

Britteny Cherestal, FAMU

Cole Mickens, FAMU

Joy Prause, Keiser 

Kimberly Watts, FSU

Leah Lunderman, FAMU 

Leann Brenneke, FSU 

Mariann D’Arcangelis, FSU

Megan Appelbaum, FSU

Oladipupo (Ladi) Dada, FAMU

Olivia Hitchcock, FSU 

Racquel Melville, FAMU

Sierra Ennis, FAMU 

Sofia Perez, FSU 

Sofie Muench, FSU